TOEFL 2026 · Writing

Best free TOEFL Build a Sentence practice (2026), compared

Written by the English Practice Exam team, so we are one of the sites compared. Every fact links to the page we checked it on. Prices as of Nov 2026.

No one site is best for everyone. For the most Build a Sentence sets any site here lists, and human teacher reviews, look at BestMyTest. For a full course built on official ETS questions, with video lessons, pick Magoosh. For lots of free practice once you make an account, Arno and LingoLeap give the most, and PrepEx adds daily AI grading and a speaking coach. English Practice Exam is smaller: you can start full sets of 10 without an account, every answer is explained, and if you need more there are small credit packs as well as a monthly plan. The tables below link every fact to the page we checked it on.

Build a Sentence practice: what each site offers

✓ yes, ◐ partly, ✗ no, ? not stated on their site. Tap a cell to see its source.

Build a Sentence practice: what each site offers
FeatureEnglish Practice ExamMagoosh TOEFLBestMyTestLingoLeapArnoPrepEx
Free practice without an accountYou can answer some questions free before you sign up.Partly3 free tests, then a paywallPartlySingle sample questions in their guidesPartlySome sets (set 1 opened; set 100 asked to sign up)YesShort drills scored in the browserPartlyBlog questions yes; the app needs an accountYesFree drill pages, one item each
Build a Sentence practicePractice for the TOEFL 2026 Writing task where you put words in order.Yes18 sets of 10 questionsYesLessons and a free sample question; set count not statedYes126 sets listedYesFree 7-item drill; more in the appYesIn the app, plus 50 free blog questionsYesFree sample item; bank size not stated
Complete the Words practicePractice for the TOEFL 2026 Reading task where you fill in missing letters.YesYesIn the free test and course; count not statedYesCount not checkedYesFree drill and app practiceYesYesFree page
New TOEFL iBT format (from Jan 2026)Practice for the tasks ETS introduced on January 21, 2026.YesEvery Reading, Listening and Writing task, plus SpeakingYesUpdated for Jan 21, 2026YesUpdated for 2026YesAll new tasks, adaptive sectionsYesAll 12 task typesYesAll new task types
Full-length mock testA whole timed test, not just single tasks.Partly2 timed mocks per exam with Pro; one part freeYes1 free (email); up to 10 official ETS tests in PremiumYes50 full adaptive tests, paidYes100+ mocks; 1 free; unlimited on PremiumYes1 free, unlimited on paidYes30 on Pro; 1 free after 7 practices
Answer explanationsWhy an answer is right, not only whether it is.YesYesVideo or text for every questionNot statedPartlyIn the free drill; app not checkedYesSeen on the blog questionsYesReading explanations; worked examples
Writing feedback or scoringAI or human scoring and comments on your writing.YesAI grading, paid (credit or Pro)YesETS's official grader, PremiumYesAI scores plus teacher reviews (by plan)YesRubric scores, grammar fixes, rewrites (credits)YesInstant AI scores and feedbackYesOn every submission
Speaking feedback or scoringAI or human scoring and comments on your speaking.YesAI practice score, TOEFL and IELTS; 1 free testYesETS's official grader, PremiumYesAI scores plus teacher reviews (by plan)YesPronunciation and fluencyYesPronunciation and fluencyYesPronunciation scoring and a voice coach
Video lessons or a courseTeaching videos or a structured course, beyond practice questions.NoYes100+ video lessonsYesVideo and interactive lessonsNot statedNot statedNot stated
Score guarantee or refundMoney back or extended access if your score does not improve.NoYes+4 points or a refund (conditions apply)YesBand increase or refund, capped at $100Not statedNot statedNot stated
iPhone or Android appAn app in the App Store or Google Play.PartlyAndroid app on Google Play; no iPhone app yetYesFlashcard and Prep-on-the-Go appsPartlyMobile-optimised site; no store app foundNot statedYesiOS and AndroidNot stated

Pick Magoosh TOEFL if

Best for: Self-studiers who want a full paid TOEFL course: official ETS-licensed practice questions and full-length tests, video lessons, writing and speaking graded with ETS's grader, and a score guarantee.

  • Official practice questions and full-length tests licensed from ETS, the test maker.
  • Writing and speaking scored with ETS's official grader.
  • 100+ video lessons, and a video or text explanation for every question.
  • One-time payment with no auto-renewal, a 7-day refund and a score guarantee.
  • A free Build a Sentence sample question with a detailed explanation, no account needed.

Less suited to: Learners who only want free drills with no sign-up: beyond single sample questions in their guides, practice needs a trial account, an email for the free test, or a paid plan. Visit Magoosh TOEFL

Pick BestMyTest if

Best for: Learners who want a very large bank of 2026-format practice, many full simulated tests and human teacher reviews of their speaking and writing, on a plan length that fits their test date.

  • A very large 2026-format bank, with far more Build a Sentence sets than we have, and many full adaptive simulations on paid plans.
  • Human TOEFL teacher reviews of speaking and writing, not only AI.
  • An instant AI score on every speaking and writing answer.
  • One-time plans from a week to two years, with no subscription to cancel.
  • Some sets work without an account.

Less suited to: Learners who want questions licensed from ETS (BestMyTest does not say it uses them), or every drill free without an account (only some sets open without sign-up). Visit BestMyTest

Pick LingoLeap if

Best for: Learners who want many 2026-format mock tests and detailed AI feedback on speaking and writing, with short, cheap plans and free drills to start.

  • Free Build a Sentence, Listen and Repeat and Complete the Words drills with no account.
  • A free account adds a full 2026 mock test and a large free question bank.
  • Many full-length 2026 mock tests on paid plans.
  • Detailed AI feedback on writing and speaking, with rewrites.
  • Clear about what is free.

Less suited to: Learners who want official ETS material, or who don't want to keep track of credits. Visit LingoLeap

Pick Arno if

Best for: Learners who want a large free practice bank for every 2026 task type once they make an account, a low-cost subscription for mock tests and AI feedback, and an app for the phone.

  • Free, unlimited practice for every 2026 task type with a free account, plus one free mock test.
  • 50 free Build a Sentence questions with answers and explanations on its blog, no account.
  • iPhone and Android apps.
  • Covers other exams too: the Duolingo English Test, PTE, IELTS, OET and Cambridge.
  • Personalised study plans, and vocabulary and grammar tools.
  • A Teacher Hub for classes.

Less suited to: Learners who want to practise in the app without an account, or official ETS material. Visit Arno

Pick PrepEx if

Best for: Learners who want daily AI-graded practice for every 2026 task, a conversational AI speaking coach and many full practice tests, with a free tier they can keep using.

  • A free tier with full AI grading that does not end.
  • Petra, a conversational AI speaking coach.
  • 30 full AI-graded practice tests on Pro.
  • Content by named TOEFL teachers.
  • Official ETS practice tests as an add-on for Pro users.

Less suited to: Learners who want lots of free practice in one sitting, a one-time payment, or official ETS questions in the base product. Visit PrepEx

Pick English Practice Exam if

Best for: Learners who want lots of short practice sets (the first 3 free, no account) for the new TOEFL tasks, IELTS Academic and all five Cambridge exams in one place, with menus and explanations in 17 languages.

  • You want to start full Build a Sentence sets of 10 right now, without an account.
  • You learn by repetition: many short sets of the same task, each answer explained.
  • You want one plan that also covers IELTS, Cambridge, TOEIC and PTE.
  • You want explanations and menus in your own language.

Less suited to: Learners who want video lessons, a study plan with a teacher, official exam-board material or a score guarantee.

Where we're weaker

  • Magoosh TOEFL: Magoosh's practice questions and full tests are official, licensed from ETS. Ours are written by our team to match the new format.
  • Magoosh TOEFL: Magoosh teaches the test, with 100+ video lessons. We have no video lessons.
  • Magoosh TOEFL: Magoosh grades writing and speaking with ETS's official grader. Our AI scores are our own estimate, for practice only.
  • Magoosh TOEFL: Magoosh offers a score guarantee and a 7-day refund. We have no score guarantee.
  • Magoosh TOEFL: Magoosh has up to 10 official full-length tests in Premium. We have 2 full TOEFL mocks with Pro.
  • BestMyTest: BestMyTest lists far more Build a Sentence sets than we have, and many more full adaptive tests.
  • BestMyTest: Its paid plans include reviews by human TOEFL teachers. Our scoring is AI only.
  • BestMyTest: It has video lessons and a score guarantee. We have neither.
  • LingoLeap: LingoLeap has many more full 2026 mock tests than our two, and one is free with an account.
  • LingoLeap: A free LingoLeap account opens a large free question bank and a full mock test. Our free practice stops after three tests.
  • LingoLeap: Its AI feedback on writing and speaking is more detailed, with rewrites.
  • Arno: With a free account, Arno's practice is unlimited. Ours stops after three free tests.
  • Arno: Arno has iPhone and Android apps and a free mock test. We have an Android app only, and our full mocks need Pro.
  • Arno: Arno adds personalised study plans.
  • PrepEx: PrepEx's free tier keeps going every day, with AI grading on every answer. Ours stops after three free tests.
  • PrepEx: PrepEx has a conversational AI speaking coach and many full AI-graded tests.
  • PrepEx: PrepEx sells official ETS practice tests as an add-on. We have no official material.

Prices side by side (as of Nov 2026)

As shown on each site's own pricing page, in the currency it shows. Checkout may show your local currency.

Prices as of Nov 2026
SitePlans and pricesChecked
English Practice ExamNov 4, 2026
Magoosh TOEFLNov 4, 2026
BestMyTestNov 4, 2026
LingoLeapNov 4, 2026
ArnoNov 4, 2026
PrepExNov 4, 2026

FAQ

What is TOEFL Build a Sentence?
It is the first Writing task of the TOEFL iBT since January 21, 2026. You read a short campus conversation and put words and phrases in the right order to build the reply.
Can I practise Build a Sentence for free?
Yes, on several of these sites. The table shows which ones need an account first and what each free plan includes.
Which site is best for Build a Sentence?
It depends on what you need: the most practice, official questions and lessons, AI scoring, or a quick free start. The table and the Pick sections above say which site does each best. Many learners use one site for drills and another for full tests.
Are these sites official ETS material?
None of the six is made by ETS. Magoosh licenses official questions from ETS, and PrepEx sells official ETS tests as an add-on; the rest, us included, write their own. Use the free sample tests on the official TOEFL site as well.
How did you check these facts?
We opened each site’s own pricing and practice pages in November 2026 and linked every fact to its page. If something has changed, email us and we will fix it.

Spotted an error, or work at one of these sites and want a fact changed? Email support@sblocktechnologies.com and we will check it and fix it within a week. Last full check: Nov 2026.